PROGRAMS Blue Distinction Specialty Care

Blue Distinction® Specialty Care recognizes health care facilities and providers that demonstrate proven expertise in delivering high-quality, effective and cost-efficient care for select specialty areas.

Nationally, the program includes 10 areas:

  • Bariatric surgery
  • Cardiac care
  • Knee and hip replacement
  • Spine surgery
  • Maternity care
  • Cancer care
  • Transplants
  • Fertility care
  • Gene therapy- ocular disorders
  • Cellular immunotherapy- CAR-T

Blue Distinction Centers have a proven history of delivering better quality and results, such as fewer complications and lower readmission rates, than those without these recognitions. For more information, please visit the Blue Distinction page.

Source: Blue Cross Blue Shield Association


Alina Pabin
Director, Health Care Value National Solutions